Two little brown birds sit side by side on stacks of orange and black line pipe at the storage yard

Looking after our land

We are committed to reducing our impact on Rumaila's land and environment in which we operate. In the past, this has not always been possible, so there are plenty of challenges ahead as we aim to reverse historical environmental damage to the land.

UXO clearance

Over 180km² of land has now been released for use – an area more than two-thirds the size of the surface area of greater Basra City. This followed the removal of over 53,000 items of unexploded ordnance, which at the time was one of the world's largest commercial UXO risk mitigation exercise ever undertaken.

Cleaning the land

Looking after the land is critical to our long-term future. Hydrocarbon-contaminated land is being brought back into use so that further modernization and development of the field can take place.

3 million m² of land remediated and ready to be brought back into use.

To date, three million square metres of land has been remediated and made ready to be brought back into use. Following a comprehensive environmental baseline survey of all Rumaila production sites, 80 oil and produced-water pits and sites were identified as having hydrocarbon contamination. We are now removing these old contaminated pits and creating new properly lined engineered pits to capture the oil without contaminating the land; between 2013 and 2017, over four million barrels of oil have been recovered for export from oil pits from sites across Rumaila.

Oil pool before remediation with pipeline in foreground
Oil pool after remediation, now a properly lined engineered pit capturing oil without contamination

Waste Management

Construction of the new Rumaila Waste Centre (RWC) has enabled ROO to responsibly treat and recycle its waste. This is helping to reduce the demands on local landfill sites by separating what waste can be recycled, incinerate what is not required and improve the way any hazardous waste such as industrial chemicals is safely package and stored. In 2017, 2,360 tonnes of waste was safely incinerated and 423 bales of plastic bottles, 28 bales of aluminium cans and 27 bales of tin cans were separated for future recycling.

  • Share this page
Rumaila Facebook page Rumaila Instagram page

عصفوران صغيران بنيان يحطان جنبًا إلى جنب فوق رصات أنابيب الخطوط البرتقالية والسوداء في ساحة التخزين

العناية بالارض

إننا ملتزمون بالحد من تأثيرنا على الارض والبيئة التي نعمل بها. وفي الماضي، لم يكن هذا الاجراء ممكناً في الرميلة، لذلك كانت هناك العديد من التحديات التي تواجهنا ، كما وعلينا دفع الضرر البيئي بأثر رجعي عن الأرض.

إزالة الذخائر غير المنفلقة

إجمالاً، تم اطلاق نحو 180 كيلومتر مربع من الأرض لاستخدامها، وهي رقعة تزيد عن ثلثي المساحة السطحية لمدينة البصرة – وذلك بعد إزالة أكثر من 53,000 من الذخائر غير المنفلقة (UXO) وهو ما يعتبر أكبر عملية تجارية عالمية لتخفيف مخاطر UXO على الإطلاق.

تنظيف الأرض

إن العناية بالأرض أمرٌ مهمٌ جداً لمستقبلنا على المدى البعيد، حيث يتم معالجة الأراضي الملوثة بالنفط الخام وإعادتها للإستخدام الأمر الذي يتيح المجال للقيام بالمزيد من أعمال تحديث وتطوير الحقل.

معالجة 3 مليون متر مربع من الأرض وجهوزيتها للإستخدام مرةً أخرى

والى هذا اليوم تم معالجة ثلاثة ملايين متر مربع من الأرض وهي الآن جاهزة كي يتم إستخدامها مرةً أخرى، وهذا بعد إجراء مسح بيئي أساسي وشامل لكل مواقع الإنتاج في الحقل ، حيث تم تحديد 80 جفرة نفط ومياه مُنتجة تعاني من تلوث بالنفط الخام. ونحن الآن بصدد معالجة هذه الجفر القديمة الملوثة وإنشاء جفر جديدة التصميم ومبطّنة بشكل صحيح لتجميع النفط والماء الذي يتم إنتاجه بدون تعريض الأرض للتلوث. وبين العامين 2013 و2017 تم إستعادة وتصدير أكثر من أربعة ملايين برميل نفط من الجفر النفطية في مواقع الرميلة المختلفة.

تجمع نفطي بعد معالجته، لدينا الآن خندق محفور ومصمم هندسيًا بشكل صحيح يستقبل نفطًا خاليًا من أي ملوثات
تجمع نفطي قبل معالجته في خطوط الأنابيب في المقدمة

إدارة النفايات

لقد ساعد إنشاء مركز جديد لمعالجة النفايات في الرميلة على جمع وتدوير النفايات بشكلٍ مسؤول في الرميلة، الأمر الذي يساعد على تقليل المسؤولية التي تقع على عاتق مطامر النفايات المحلية عن طريق عزل النفايات القابلة للتدوير، وحرق المتبقي الى جانب تطوير عملية حزم وخزن النفايات الخطرة بشكلٍ آمن كالمواد الكيميائية الصناعية. وفي العام 2017، تم حرق أكثر من 2,360 طن من النفايات بشكلٍ آمن الى جانب فصل 423 رزمة من القناني البلاستيكية و 28 رزمة من علب الألمنيوم و 27 رزمة من علب القصدير الجاهزة للتدوير في المستقبل.

  • شارك هذه الصفحة