A mature oilfield with multiple challenges
Since 2010 the ROO has increased production by 33%, an achievement all the more impressive given the immense and multiple challenges it has faced and overcome.

These challenges range from dealing with the declining pressure levels in the reservoirs that drives a base decline of 17%, to the problem of increased water coming up our wells, working with old facilities that date back to the 1960s and 70s, and a physically challenging environment with serious legacy issues. ROO is overcoming all of these difficulties.

A base decline of 17%
As a mature oilfield, Rumaila's reservoirs are changing, with much of its remaining recoverable oil locked in increasingly complex geological formations. After 60 years of extracting oil, gas and water, the pressure levels in the reservoirs are declining; failure to address this issue would see the field's production fall around 17% or 200,000 bpd every year. This is because of the natural process of base decline, which is common to all oilfields (although decline rates vary in different reservoirs according to geological factors). Overcoming the base decline and sustaining high oil production involves deploying large-scale engineering solutions, in particular reintroducing pressure into the reservoirs by injecting industrially treated water. Find out more about this on our water page.

As reservoirs adapt and change, so too must Rumaila’s facilities, tools and techniques.

Aged equipment and increased water
Most of Rumaila’s facilities and associated pipework are 40-50 years old. Financial constraints have curtailed ambitious plans for comprehensive field renewal, resulting in the need to continue to maintain these old facilities. Planned water injection improves the production rate, but this means more water is coming up Rumaila’s wells, resulting in facilities now having to separate around 420,000 barrels of water a day from the oil produced. Rumaila has never seen this level of water in its 60-year history. This places even more strain on old facilities, not designed to cope with such volumes of water. Find out more how we are addressing this on our field renewal page.

A demanding environment
In the summer months, temperatures rise to over 50°C and, in the winter flash flooding can make sites inaccessible. Throughout the year, high winds can prevent rigs from drilling while sandstorms can bring operations to a halt. These are conditions that staff members regularly endure, but these difficulties are also compounded by a legacy of environmental damage as well as war and conflict – with the land strewn with hundreds of thousands of unexploded ordnance (UXO). More information about how Rumaila is working to clean the environment of past legacy issue and UXO can be found on this page.

  • Share this page
Rumaila Facebook page Rumaila Instagram page

حقل ينتج النفط منذ سنواتٍ عديدةٍ مع تحديات متعددة
منذ العام 2010 تمكنت هيأة تشغيل الرميلة من زيادة إنتاج النفط بنسبة 33% و هذا إنجازٌ مذهل نظراً للتحديات الهائلة و المتعددة التي واجهتها و تغلبت عليها.
و تتراوح هذه التحديات من التعامل مع إنحسار الضغوط المكمنية بنسبة 17% كل عام لمشكلة إرتفاع كميات المياه في الآبار و العمل بمنشآت متقادمة تم إنشائها في الستينات و السبعينات، الى جانب البيئة الصعبة مع مشاكل موروثة، و تقوم هيأة تشغيل الرميلة بالتعاطي مع كل هذه التحديات و تخطيها.
إنحسار الضغوط المكمنية بنسبة 17%

لقد مضى على حقل الرميلة العديد من السنوات في إنتاج النفط، لذلك فإن مكامن الرميلة تتغير مع وجود كميات كبيرة من النفط القابل للإستخراج مخزون في تكوينات جيلوجية متزايدة التعقيد. فبعد 60 عاماً من إستخراج النفط و الغاز و الماء بدأت مستويات الضغط في المكامن بالإنخفاض، و إن لم نعالج ذلك لإنخفض إنتاج الحقل بنسبة 17% أو 200,000 برميل في كل عام و ذلك بسبب الظاهرة الطبيعية لإنحسار الضغوط المكمنية، و هي ظاهرة تحدث في جميع الحقول النفطية (لكن تختلف نسب الإنخفاض بحسب عوامل جيولوجية). لذلك يتطلب تجاوز إنحسار الضغوط المكمنية و إدامة معدل الإنتاج المرتفع إيجاد حلول هندسية واسعة النطاق و بالأخص زيادة الضغوط المكمنية عن طريق حقن المياه المعالجة صناعياً. لمعرفة المزيد.

و مع تكيف المكامن و تغيرها يجب على منشآت و أدوات و أساليب الرميلة التكيف و التغير أيضاً.

معدات متقادمة و إزدياد المياه

إن معظم المنشآت و شبكة الأنابيب المرتبطة بها يبلغ عمرها 40 – 50 عاماً، وقد أدت القيود المالية إلى تقليص الخطط الطموحة للتجديد الشامل للحقل، مما دفع الى الحاجة لمواصلة الحفاظ على هذه المنشآت القديمة. كما إن عمليات حقن الماء المخطط لها تعمل على تحسين معدل الإنتاج، لكن ذلك يعني بأن المزيد من الماء سيخرج من آبار الرميلة، و أصبح على هذه المنشآت الآن عزل ما يقارب 420,000 برميل ماء في اليوم من النفط المُنتَج، و هذه الكمية من المياه غير مشهودة في تاريخ الرميلة الذي يعود الى 60 عاماً، و هذا الأمر يضع ضغطاً كبيراً على المنشآت القديمة غير المصممة لإستيعاب هكذا كمياتٍ من المياه. تعرف على المزيد من المعلومات حول كيفية تعاملنا مع هذا التحدي في الصفحة الخاصة بتجديد الحقل.

بيئة صعبة

تصل درجات الحرارة في فصل الصيف الى أكثر من 50 درجة، و في الشتاء قد يكون من الصعب جداً الوصول الى المواقع و ذلك بسبب الفيضانات. و على مدار السنة يمكن للرياح العاتية أن توقف أبراج الحفر بينما تؤدي العواصف الرمليه الى توقف العمليات بشكلٍ كاملٍ. هذه هي الصعوبات التي يجب على العاملين التعامل معها يومياً، لكن هنالك عوامل جعلت هذه الصعوبات تتفاقم كالأضرار البيئية الموروثة الى جانب الحروب و الصراعات التي جعلت مئات الآلاف من الذخائر غير المنفلقة (UXO) منتشرة في الأرض. يمكنكم معرفة المزيد عن كيفية عمل الرميلة لتنظيف البيئة من المشاكل الموروثة و الذخائر غير المنفلقة هنا.

  • شارك هذه الصفحة