Thirteen men in suits and traditional Arab dress stand side by side to cut a red ribbon at an opening ceremony

Working with our community

The Rumaila Social Welfare Fund (SWF) delivers community projects to benefit communities that live in and around Rumaila oilfield – the largest being those in the BOC (previously known as SOC) and Al Sekak Villages at North Rumaila, and at Al Khora near the Qarmat Ali Water Treatment Plant.

Rumaila actively engages with its neighbouring communities and works hand in hand with local authorities and community leaders to ensure any concerns are understood, and that our communities are valued as part of the extended Rumaila family.

Our social programmes are in the vital areas of training and education, health and infrastructure.

Training and education

The Rumaila funded Women’s Training Centre in Al Khora village near the Qarmat Ali Water Treatment Plant provides training for vulnerable women, most of whom are the main breadwinners for their families. Over 400 women have completed voluntary training courses to learn new skills through the scheme. Many have gone on to set up their own community businesses. Read more here.

In addition, youths from the village of Al Khora have also benefited from a vocational training programme, undertaking certified training courses in welding, construction and electrical work.

Schools in the Al Khora village have been refurbished by ROO between 2014 and 2017. Insulation, lighting, electrical wiring, paving, and fencing facilities were all upgraded to provide a better teaching environment; female latrines were constructed to counter what had been identified as the main barrier to regular female school attendance.

Health

In North Rumaila, we provided a mobile helth clinic with a doctor, dentist and pharmacists , serving around 7,000 people from both BOC and Al Sekak villages.

A man in a dentist chair receiving a dental check-up from a dentist at the Al-Khora village clinic

The new state of the art Al Khora Health Clinic was designed and built by ROO and its partners to serve the 7,000 residents. The clinic has consultation rooms, a waiting area and an emergency room and offers a range of services including preventative healthcare (such as vaccinations) and therapeutic services. The clinic has been seeing an average of 255 patients per week.Read more here.

Al Khora also now enjoys clean water for drinking and bathing for the first time, thanks to a project to deliver water to the village. This entailed working with the Directorate of Water and several stages of renovations and construction, including: upgrading the existing water treatment plant to extract and treat potable water; installing a new source water pump station and the installation of 2.5km of new pipework to reach residents’ homes.

Seven men in coveralls and traditional Arab dress look at pipes at a water treatment project for local villages near Basra

In addition, Rumaila runs a Women’s Health Volunteer programme and during an average month, around 1,600 home visits are made by the network of 20 volunteers to educate families about health issues. We also supported local hospitals, having donated echocardiogram scanning equipment to Zubair Hospital and provided maintenance services on an on-going basis to Basra Children Hospital.

Our social programmes are in the vital areas of training and education, health and infrastructure.

Infrastructure

In North Rumaila, we’ve aided two villages with the provision of drinking water via tankers to over 1,000 households. We also purchased and installed new pumps at a water pumping facility in Al Sekak village supplying 450 households with directly piped water.

Rumaila has built a 4km modern asphalt main access road to Al Khora village and upgraded roads for both villages in North Rumaila, improving access to the outside world and services.

On an on-going basis, Rumaila provides regular refuse collection services to around 1,000 households in North Rumaila and has also provided scrap removal services on a periodic basis when requested.

In an effort to improve general living conditions, Rumaila has repaired and re-installed street lighting, and planted greenery and refurbished a recreational park in North Rumaila.

Recreational park at night

Staff Charitable Donations

Staff at Rumaila also make their own generous contributions through donations and various fundraising initiatives, which to date have exceeded $160,000. These funds have gone towards various initiatives including the Basra Children’s Cancer Hospital. Read more here.

  • Share this page
Rumaila Facebook page Rumaila Instagram page

ثلاثة عشر رجلاً يرتدون البدلات واللباس العربي التقليدي يقفون جنبًا إلى جنب لقص الشريط الأحمر في حفل افتتاح

العمل مع مجتمعاتنا

يقدم صندوق المنافع الاجتماعية للرميلة مشاريعاً لدعم المجتمعات التي تسكن بالقرب من الحقل وداخله أيضاً – وأبرزها سكن موظفي شركة نفط البصرة (نفط الجنوب سابقاً) وقرية السكك في الرميلة الشمالية، بالإضافة الى قرية الخورة بالقرب من مشروع حقن الماء - منطقة كرمة علي.

تعمل الرميلة بشكل مكثف للتواصل مع مجتمعاتها ، كما تعمل يداً بيد مع السلطات المحلية ووجهاء العشائر لضمان معرفة مشاكلهم بالإضافة الى تثمينهم كجزء من عائلة الرميلة.

تشتمل مشاريعنا الإجتماعية على قطاعات مهمة وحيوية كالتدريب والتعليم والصحة والبنى التحتية.

التدريب و التعليم

يقدم مركز التدريب النسوي الذي تموله الرميلة والذي يقع في قرية الخورة بالقرب من محطة معالجة مياه كرمة علي التدريب للنساء والأرامل اللاتي يعملن ليوفرن القوت لعوائلهن، حيث إن أكثر من 400 إمرأة أكملن التدريب الطوعي لتعلم مهاراتٍ جديدةٍ من خلال هذا المركز، كما إن العديد من هؤلاء النسوة تمكنَّ من إقامة المشروع المجتمعي الخاص بهن. إقرأ المزيد عن ذلك هنا.

بالإضافة الى ذلك، إنضم عدد من شباب قرية الخورة الى برنامج التدريب المهني، حيث تلقوا دروساً تدريبية مرخصة في اللحام والبناء والأعمال الكهربائية.

كما قامت الرميلة بترميم المدارس في قرية الخورة في الفترة ما بين العامين 2014 و2017، حيث تم إصلاح وتطوير العزل والإضاءة والتوصيلات الكهربائية والتعبيد والأسيجة لتوفير بيئة تعليمية أفضل، بالإضافة الى تشييد دورات مياه للإناث والذي كان إنعدامها السبب وراء عدم إلتحاق العديد من الفتيات بالمدارس.

الصحة

وفي منطقة الرميلة الشمالية، تم تجهيز عيادة متنقلة متكاملة جديدة للمجتمع يتوفر فيها طبيب عام وطبيب أسنان وصيدلانيين والذين يقدمون خدماتهم لما يقارب 7,000 فرداً لكل من سكن موظفين نفط البصرة وقرية السكك .

رجلٌ مُمدٌ على كرسي طبيب الأسنان يتلقى فحصًا طبيًا في عيادة بقرية الخورة

كما قمنا بإنشاء وإفتتاح مركز صحي جديد حديث الطراز في قرية الخورة - كرمة علي لتقديم الخدمات الصحية أكثر من 7,000 فرداً. وخلال فترة إنشاء هذا المركز وفرت الرميلة الدعم لعيادة صحية مؤقتة والتي تقدم عدداً من الخدمات الصحية الاولية الأساسية متضمنةً برنامج تلقيح لوقاية الأطفال من الأمراض الخطيرة. لمعرفة المزيد.

وأصبحت قرية الخورة الآن تتمتع بالمياه النقية الصالحة للإستخدام والإستحمام ولأول مرة بفضل مشروع محطة الضخ الذي أوصل المياه الى القرية. وتطلب ذلك العمل مع دائرة ماء البصرة وتنفيذ عدة مراحل من التجديد والبناء، وتضمن ذلك تطوير محطة المياه القديمة كي تتمكن من سحب ومعالجة المياه كي تصبح صالحة للإستخدام، الى جانب إنشاء محطة ضخ جديدة على مصدر المياه و2.5 كم من الأنابيب الجديدة كي تصل المياه الى منازل أفراد المجتمع.

سبعة رجال يرتدون مآزر ولباسًا عربيًا تقليديًا ينظرون إلى الأنابيب في مشروع معالجة المياه بالقرى بالقرب من البصرة

وقامت الرميلة بإنشاء وتوفير الدعم المستمر لبرنامج المتطوعات الصحيات الذي يبلغ عددهن عشرون إمرأة يقومنَّ بمعدل 1,600 زيارة منزلية شهرياً لتثقيف العوائل وتوعيتهم فيما يخص الصحة ومشاكلها. كما قمنا بدعم المستشفيات المحلية عن طريق التبرع بمعدات مسح (إيكو) الى مستشفى الزبير بالإضافة الى تقديم خدمات الصيانة الى مستشفى الطفل في البصرة بإستمرار.

تشتمل مشاريعنا الإجتماعية على قطاعات مهمة وحيوية كالتدريب والتعليم والصحة والبنى التحتية.

البنى التحتية

كما قمنا بمساعدة قريتين في الرميلة الشمالية عن طريق توفير مياه الشرب لما يقارب 1,000 منزلاً بواسطة السيارات الحوضية، بالإضافة الى شراء ونصب مضخاتٍ جديدةٍ في محطة لضخ المياه في قرية السكك والتي تزود ما يقارب 450 منزلاً بالمياه عن طريق الأنابيب.

وأنشأت الرميلة شارعٍ ذي مواصفاتٍ عالميةٍ وبطول 4 كم، حيث يعتبر هذا الطريق المدخل الرئيس لقرية الخورة، بالإضافة الى تطوير الطرق لكلا القريتين في الرميلة الشمالية لتسهيل تواصلهم مع المناطق والخدمات المجاورة.

وتوفر الرميلة خدماتٍ أخرى كجمع الأنقاض والنفايات وبشكلٍ مستمرٍ لما يقارب 1,000 منزلاً في الرميلة الشمالية الى جانب إزالة المخلفات المعدنية بشكلٍ دوريٍ وحسب الطلب.

وفي سعيها لتطوير المستوى المعيشي العام، قامت الرميلة بإصلاح وإعادة نصب أنظمة الإنارة للشوارع، الى جانب زرع النباتات وترميم منتزه ترفيهي في الرميلة الشمالية.

تبرعات الكادر

من جانبٍ آخر، تقدم الكوادر الرميلة مساهماتها الخاصة عن طريق التبرعات ومختلف النشاطات الخيرية، حيث تم جمع أكثر من $160,000 الى هذا اليوم لدعم قضايا مختلفة، بضمنها مستشفى الطفل التخصصي في البصرة. إقرأ المزيد عن ذلك هنا.

  • شارك هذه الصفحة