Operating Rumaila in a $50-barrel world
story04
General Manager Ariel Flores recently spoke at the Iraq British Business Council. Below is a transcript of his speech, in which he explains Rumaila’s journey over the past seven years and how the operation has learnt to operate in a $50-barrel world.

Good Morning esteemed guests and delegates. It is an honour to be invited here today by the Iraq British Business Council and to share our experience with all of you.

BP, and Rumaila in particular, have a long-standing relationship with the IBBC, along with a shared vision for the continued development of Iraq.

My name is Ariel Flores and eight months ago I was given the honour of becoming the Rumaila Operating Organisation’s General Manager.

As an engineer, being given responsibility for managing one of the largest and most important fields in the world is one of the greatest privileges you can be given.

A super giant oilfield
Rumaila is one of the world’s largest oil fields, delivering around one third of Iraq’s oil production. The field is vast, with 14 Degassing Stations and 10 Cluster pump stations, a staff of around 7,000, and an additional estimated 22,000 people working as contractors.

In 2010 the Rumaila Operating Organisation (ROO) was formed as a partnership between the South Oil Company of Iraq, the State Oil Marketing Organization, BP and PetroChina under a 20-year Technical Services Contract which has since been extended until 2034.

At ROO’s inception the oil price was hovering around the mid $90s and our mission was to transform the operation to deliver a major increase in production.

This we duly did: and, alongside the immediate day-to-day work of increasing oil production in the short to medium term, we developed plans that included building modern greenfield facilities that could eventually take production from 1 million to 2.1 million barrels a day. But when the oil price fell to $30/barrel SOC and MoO requested we delay some of those options, taking a more pragmatic approach to optimise the existing brownfield facilities, a change in strategy which is a testament to Rumaila’s organisational agility.

A common set of values
The key to our growth as an organisation composed of individuals from many different backgrounds and nationalities is a common set of values; what we call The Rumaila Way.

In my career, I have found that when times are going well, such as when the oil price is high, we can easily lose sight of our core values and their true importance to our company and its culture. However, when times are difficult, it is at this point that our values serve as a road map to guide us in making hard choices.

These core values are driving our efforts and have brought out the best in this united team for the benefit of Iraq.

A safe operation is a reliable operation
In those early days of ROO, when BP and PetroChina joined forces with SOC, we set about laying the foundations for future success.

Safety became our number one priority. Every possible measure was taken to ensure the safety and wellbeing of everybody working in Rumaila. We made significant investments in this regard and the outcomes have been considerable.

Since 2011, we have seen a 69% reduction in high potential safety incidents – a near miss incident that if it were not for luck could have equated to a fatality.

Among our efforts in improving safety, I would like to highlight three which had an outsized impact:

  1. We developed a fit-for-purpose Control of Work system underpinned by training for our local staff to introduce a safer and more robust implementation of safety barriers to our field operations
  2. We engaged our local contractors through a mix of incentives and expectations to drive safe practices and embed the principle that safe operations make solid business sense
  3. We implemented a disciplined and systematic facilities maintenance plan which addressed our highest risk areas

Operating in a $50-barrel world
With a continually safer environment we have a more reliable operation, which has been a foundation for growth.

I am proud to say that despite all the challenges, we have been able to continue to increase production today, to just over 1.4 million barrels a day on an annualised average.

Achieving this level of production, a third more than in 2010, requires significant growth, particularly once you factor in the field’s base decline rate of around 17%, which equates an annual reduction of around 200,000 barrels per day.

In order to deliver this growth we have focused on increasing water injection to address the declining reservoir pressure in the Northern part of our field which has depleted after 60 years of extracting oil, gas, and now water. As a result of this focus, our Cluster Pump Stations now have 20 pumps available for the first time in Rumaila’s history, pumping over 800,000 barrels of water per day into our reservoirs.

This water has been treated at the enhanced Qarmat Ali Water Treatment Plant, and with the recent addition of a new state-of-the-art water filtration system the plant’s capacity will soon increase by 1 million barrels, allowing it to produce around 2 million barrels of water per day for Rumaila and its neighbouring oil fields.

Investing in growth
In order to handle the increased water which is produced along with the oil we are enhancing our facilities by installing new gas and oil separators, Dehydrator and Desalters, water separators and water disposal units, and new storage flow tanks. Combined, this enables us to process better oil quality, with lower salt and water content – which makes the oil more valuable on the open market.

We are also building a brand new Power Plant to help meet the Rumaila oilfield’s power needs. This plant will generate electricity from gas captured from Rumaila’s own reservoirs – generating up to 235,000kW per day; enough to power the equivalent of over 20,000 Basrawi homes.

All of these carefully selected enhancements are vital to succeed in the long term, but measured and at pace.

An array of engineering and digital technologies
A key tenet of Rumaila’s progress has been the introduction of an array of engineering and digital technologies.

Perhaps the greatest impact on our efficiency has resulted from the introduction of our digital oil field technology, which allows us to collect real-time information about pressure and temperature levels and the corresponding production capabilities from over 250 wellheads. When combined and integrated with other operating data, we have been able to significantly improve our reservoir modelling and forecasting capabilities, enabling a more optimized drilling and workover activity set.

As a result of these efforts over 240 new wells have been drilled and almost 500 wells have been maintained by rig workovers since 2010. In fact, the number of producing wells has increased by nearly 50%.

Our delivery and the improved capability of our teams have been optimized further through integrated planning and greater standardization across the field, yielding:

  • 54% improvement in drilling and
  • 40% improvement in workovers

Technologies, innovation, and increased capability have come together to improve the economic outlook for Rumaila, allowing us to put wells on production almost 80% faster and 40% cheaper than in 2011.

The future
Success, however, goes beyond deciding where to invest capital. In the face of budget reductions we must be focused and ensure that we make the most of all our resources, particularly our greatest asset: our human capital.

A large part of my role as General Manager, therefore, is to ensure that our highly experienced expatriate specialists operating in Iraq are doing all they can to support the development of their Iraqi colleagues by transferring decades of expertise gained from managing other supergiant fields from around the world – and sharing it with our Iraqi colleagues to create the next generation of leaders.

As it was at ROO’s inception, our mission remains clear: to leverage all aspects of the ROO partnership to ensure we invest responsibly for the benefit of Iraq. After seven years, we understand where and how best to leverage efficiencies.

So we will continue to invest responsibly; in our people, in technology and in critical infrastructure. We will continue to create efficiencies in our operations and make smart choices. And we will continue to invest in our neighbouring communities through our social investment programs.

Thank you
  • Share this page
Rumaila Facebook page Rumaila Instagram page

تشغيل حقل الرميلة في ظل اسعار نفط تبلغ 50 دولاراً للبرميل
تحدّث مؤخراً مدير هيأة تشغيل الرميلة السيد اريال فلورس في اجتماع لمجلس الاعمال العراقي البريطاني. فيما ياتي نص كلمته التي يوضح فيها مسيرة الرميلة خلال الاعوام السبعة الماضية وكيف ان الهيأة قد تمكنّت من تشغيل الحقل في سوق نفط يبلغ فيه سعر برميل النفط 50 دولارا.

السادة الضيوف واعضاء الوفود المحترمون، صباح الخير. انه لشرف لي ان اكون مدعواً هنا اليوم من قبل مجلس الاعمال العراقي البريطاني لإطلعكم على تجربتنا وخبرتنا.

ليس خافيا ان لدى شركة بي بي والرميلة تحديدا علاقة طويلة الامد مع مجلس الاعمال العراقي البريطاني، اضافة الى رؤية مشتركة للتطوير المستمر للعراق.

انا أريال فلورس وقد مُنحت قبل ثمانية اشهر شرف منصب مدير هيأة تشغيل الرميلة.

وكمهندس، فان اعطائي مسؤولية ادارة احد اكبر واهم حقول النفط في العالم هو احد اعظم مراتب الشرف التي يُمكن منحها.

حقلٌ نفطيٌ عملاق
ان حقل الرميلة هو احد اكبر حقول النفط في العالم وينتجُ حوالي ثلث انتاج العراق من النفط. وهو حقلٌ شاسعٌ يحتوي على 14 محطة لعزل الغاز و 10 محطات عنقودية لحقن الماء، كما يضم حوالي 7.000 موظفاً وما يقرب من 22.000 فرد يعملون ضمن سلسلة تجهيزه الواسعة.

تم تأسيس هيأة تشغيل الرميلة في عام 2010 نتيجة الشراكة بين شركة نفط الجنوب العراقية وشركة تسويق النفط العراقية (سومو) وشركة بي بي البريطانية وشركة بتروتشاينا الصينية بموجب عقد الخدمة الفنية وامده 20 عاما والذي تم تمديده لاحقاً حتى عام 2034.

وعند بداية عمل الهيأة، كانت اسعار النفط اعلى من 90 دولارا امريكيا للبرميل الواحد وقد كانت مهمتنا هي تطوير عمليات الهيأة لتتمكن من رفع الانتاج بشكل كبير.

وهو الامر الذي نجحنا فيه فعلا، فعلاوةً عن العمل اليومي لرفع الانتاج النفطي على المدى القصير والمتوسط، طورنا خطط تضمنت بناء منشآت حقلية جديدة قادرة في نهاية المطاف على رفع الانتاج من 1 مليون الى 2.1 مليون برميل في اليوم. لكن عندما انخفضت اسعار النفط الى 30 دولارا للبرميل، طلبت منا كل من شركة نفط الجنوب وشركة تسويق النفط تأجيل بعض تلك الخطط والخيارات واللجوء الى طريقة اكثر واقعية وعملية تقضي بتحسين وتحديث المنشآت الحقلية الموجودة والاستفادة منها وهو تغير في الاستراتيجية يشهد على قدرة وكفاءة الرميلة المؤسساتية لمواجهة المستجدات والتحديات الطارئة والتعاطي معها بايجابية.

مجموعة من القيم المشتركة
ان العامل الاساس لتطورنا ونمونا كمؤسسة مؤلفة من افراد ينتمون لثقافات وجنسيات مختلفة هو امتلاكنا لمجموعة من القيم المشتركة التي ندعوها بنهج الرميلة.

خلال مسيرتي العملية، اكتشفت بانه عندما تكون الامور على ما يرام مثل الاوقات التي يكون فيها سعر النفط مرتفعا، فان من السهل ان ننسى قيمنا الاساسية واهميتها الحقيقية لشركتنا وثقافتها ونهجها. غير انه عندما تكون الاوقات حرجة وصعبة، ففي هذه النقطة تحديدا يمكن لقيمنا ان تمثل خارطة طريق لإرشادنا وتوجهينا عند اللجوء لإتخاذ الخيارات والقرارات الصعبة.

ومن هنا، تعمل تلك القيم الاساسية على حشد وتقوية جهودنا وطاقاتنا وقد اسهمت باظهار افضل الطاقات في هذا الفريق الموحد خدمة لصالح وفائدة العراق.

مؤسسة آمنة هي مؤسسة يمكن التعويل والاعتماد عليها
في الايام الاولى لتشكيل هيأة تشغيل الرميلة وعندما التحقت كوادر شركتي بي بي وبتروتشاينا بالعمل جنبا الى جنب مع كوادر شركة نفط الجنوب، شرعنا بوضع الاساسات لنجاحنا المستقبلي.

وقد اصبحت السلامة اولويتنا الاولى. فقد تم تطبيق جميع الخطط والاجراءات الممكنة لضمان سلامة وصحة جميع العاملين في الرميلة. ولذا استثمرنا في هذا الجانب بشكل كبير وان النتائج المتحققة حتى الآن هي نتائج ايجابية للغاية.

فمنذ عام 2011، شهدنا انخفاضا في حوادث السلامة عالية الخطورة بنسبة 69%، وهي حوادث وشيكة الحدوث لو لم يتدخل الحظ وحال دون وقوعها لربما نتج عنها وفيات.

ومن ضمن جهودنا الاخرى لتحسين السلامة، أود التركيز على ثلاثة اشياء كان لها الاثر الكبير:

  1. قمنا بتطوير برنامج السيطرة على العمل الذي اعد حسب الغرض وتعزيزه بتدريب كوادرنا لإدخال وتطبيق اجراءات السلامة بشكل اكثر امناً وحزماً في عملياتنا الحقلية.
  2. اشركنا متعاقدينا المحليين بمزيج من الاجراءات المشجعة والتوقعات لنشر وتعزيز الاجراءات الآمنة ولترسيخ فكرة ان العمليات الآمنة تخلق نشاطاً صناعياً قوياً وراسخا
  3. قمنا بتطبيق خطة ممنهجة ومنتظمة لصيانة المنشآت لمعالجة جوانب عمل المؤسسة الاكثر خطورة

العمل في عالمٍ يبلغ فيه سعر برميل النفط 50 دولارا
مع استمرار توفر بيئة عمل آمنة، اصبح لدينا مؤسسة اكثر اعتمادية وهذا ما وضع الاساس لنمو وازدهار المؤسسة.

وانا فخور بالقول بانه ورغم جميع التحديات، فقد تمكنا من الاستمرار برفع الانتاج حتى يومنا هذا ليتجاوز 1.4 مليون برميل في اليوم وفق متوسط الانتاج السنوي المُحتسب.

ان تحقيق مستوى الانتاج هذا، اي بارتفاع يتخطى نسبة الثلث عما كان عليه في عام 2010 يستلزم نمواً كبيراً، خصوصاً اذا ما احتسبنا معدل انحسار الحقل السنوي التي تبلغ نسبته حوالي 17%، اي ما يعادل تراجعاً سنوياً في الانتاج بحوالي 200 الف برميل في اليوم.

ولإجل تحقيق هذا النمو، قمنا بالتركيز على رفع مستوى حقن الماء للمساعدة في معالجة مشكلة انخفاض الضغط المكمني في شمال الحقل الذي انحسر انتاجه من النفط بعد 60 عاماً من استخراج الموائع منه. وكنتيجة لهذا التركيز، توجد في محطات حقن الماء العنقودية الآن 20 مضخة جاهزة للخدمة وذلك للمرة الأولى في تأريخ الرميلة حيث تحقن تلك المضخات مجتمعة اكثر من 800.000 برميل ماء يوميا الى مكامننا.

فيما يتم معالجة هذه الكمية من الماء في محطة كرمة علي لمعالجة المياه التي تم اعادة تأهيلها وتحديثها لتعزيز قدرتها، ومع اضافة نظام تنقية ماء جديد وذي مواصفات متقدمة جداً، فان قدرة المحطة سوف ترتفع قريباً بحوالي 1 مليون برميل، مما يسمح لها بانتاج ما يقرب من 2 مليون برميل من الماء يوميا لحقل الرميلة والحقول المجاورة الاخرى.

الاستثمار في النمو
لغرض معالجة مشكلة ارتفاع كمية الماء المصاحب للنفط، نقوم حاليا بتعزيز قدرة محطاتنا من خلال نصب وحدات جديدة لعزل النفط والغاز ووحدات لمعالجة النفط الرطب ووحدات لفصل الاملاح ووحدات للتخلص من الماء المصاحب وخزانات نفط جديدة. حيث تسمح تلك العوامل مجتمعة لنا بالحصول على نفط ذي نوعية افضل بمستويات اقل من المحتوى المائي والملحي مما يُكسبه قيمة اعلى في سوق النفط العالمية.

كما نقوم ببناء محطة جديدة للطاقة الكهربائية للمساعدة في تلبية احتياجات الرميلة من الطاقة. ستقوم هذه المحطة بتوليد الطاقة باستخدام الغاز المستخرج من حقل الرميلة وستقوم بتوليد ما يصل الى 235.000 كيلو واط يوميا، اي ما يعادل الطاقة اللازمة لإكثر من 20.000 عائلة بصرية.

لقد تم اختيار تلك المشاريع بشكل مدروسٍ وروية وهي جوهرية من اجل النجاح على المدى الطويل ولكن بخطىً محسوبة وثابتة.

حزمة مختلفة من التقنيات الهندسية والرقمية
لقد كان ادخال وتوظيف حزمة مختلفة من التقنيات الهندسية والرقمية احد اهم عوامل نمو وتقدم الرميلة.

وربما كان لإدخال تقنيات الحقل الرقمية التأثيرالابرز على رفع كفائتنا وفاعليتنا، حيث تُتيح لنا تلك التقنيات الحصول على البيانات المباشرة عن مستويات الضغط والحرارة والقدرات الانتاجية ذات الصلة من اكثر من 250 رأس بئر. وعند جمع وتوحيد تلك البيانات مع المعطيات التشغيلية الاخرى، تمكنا من تحسين قدراتنا على فهم ونمذجة وتوقع سلوك مكامننا بشكل كبير جدا، وهذا ما ساعد بتحسين كفاءة ودقة اعمال الحفر والاستصلاح.

وكنتيجة لتلك الجهود، تم حفر اكثر من 240 بئر جديدة والقيام بحوالي 500 مهمة استصلاح للآبار باستخدام برج الحفر منذ 2010. وفي الواقع، لقد ارتفع عدد الآبار المنتجة الاساسية بحوالي 50%.

لقد تم تحسين انتاجية فرقنا وقدراتها المتطورة بشكل اكثر من خلال التخطيط الموحد والمتكامل وتطابق وإتساق منهجية الاداء بشكل اكبر في جميع مفاصل الحقل، مما اسهم بتحقيق:

  • تحسين اعمال حفر الآبار بنسبة 54%
  • وتحسين اعمال استصلاح الآبار بنسبة 40%

المستقبل
وعلى كل حال، يتجاوز معنى النجاح مبدأ تحديد اين بالضبط يتم استثمار الاموال. ففي ظل تقليصات الموازنة، يتعين علينا التركيز وان نحرص على الاستفادة القصوى من مواردنا ، وخصوصا رأس مالنا الاعظم، واعني به مواردنا البشرية.

ولذا، فان جزءاً كبيراً من دوري كمدير للهيأة هو ضمان قيام خبرائنا الاجانب من اصحاب الخبرة الواسعة العاملين في العراق بكل ما يستطيعون عمله لدعم تطوير زملائهم العراقيين من خلال نقل عقودٍ من الخبرة التي اكتسبوها من ادارة وتشغيل حقول نفطية عملاقة اخرى في العالم ومشاركة تلك الخبرة مع زملائهم العراقيين للمساهمة في خلق القادة المستقبليين.

تبقى مهمتنا ، وكما كانت عند تشكيل هيأة تشغيل الرميلة، واضحة وتتمثل بتسخير جميع قدرات ومكتسبات شراكة هيأة تشغيل الرميلة للتأكد من قيامنا بالاستثمار المسؤول والبناء لصالح خدمة وخير العراق. وبعد سبعة اعوام من العمل، ندرك اين وكيف لنا ان نقوم بتسخير الترشيد واستغلال مواردنا الذاتية بشكل افضل.

ولذلك سنستمر بالاستثمار المسؤول والبناء في مواردنا البشرية والتقنيات والبنى التحتية الضرورية. كما سنستمر بخلق الكفاءة في عملياتنا واللجوء الى اتخاذ الخيارات الذكية وذات الجدوى. كما ستواصل استثمارنا في المجتمعات المجاورة للحقل من خلال برامج الاستثمار المجتمعي.

شكراً لكم
الموارد البشرية
roohrenquiries@rumaila.iq
المتعاقدون
roopscmsr@rumaila.iq
وسائل الإعلام
roopresscentre@rumaila.iq